Meatless Monday – Banana Bread & Kids in the Kitchen

I think this is the recipe that started it all.  We had some ripe bananas one day, so I looked for a banana bread recipe.  We got out the flour and the sugar and I taught Miss Love how to measure.  I think this is the recipe that makes her think all recipes should have flour and sugar.

The best thing about this recipe is the confidence in the kitchen it gave all my kids from the very beginning.  Even when one time we miscounted the flour and had way too much.  They were never discouraged to try it again.  Even Big G (or I guess I should say especially), who is not quite 2, loves to get in and help.

And hot banana bread with melting butter is always a crowd pleaser.  Some day, I imagine my boys will use this recipe to impress friends or maybe even a girl.  Who knows.  I am just happy to be able to start them on the right path.

Banana Bread

  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups flour

bake at 350* in a buttered pan for 1 hour.

Serve hot with melted butter.

Feel free to join me with a recipe or tip for Meatless Monday.

Powered by MckLinky

Click here to enter your link and view the entire list of entered links…

Also Check out:

  • Tasty Tuesday
  • Meatless Monday
Leave a Reply

